You maybe looking for:

Vision, Mission and Values @ Governance Structure

Graduates of the Anglo-American University are prepared to make a positive difference addressing local, national and international challenges through the analysis and application of current and developing knowledge in the context of a globalized world.

AAU was founded in 1990, shortly after the collapse of communism, as the Anglo-American College (AAC) by Jansen Raichl and Dr. Vlasta Raichlová. Their vision was to create an educational institution that would combine the best of American and British academic principles with Central European traditions and give students a wide range of opportunities for future career in the local and international labor market.


As a global and inclusive community, AAU prepares learners for leading a meaningful and prosperous life by cultivating critical thinking, effective communication and responsible action through personalized and transformative learning. 


The AAU vision is to be a leading learning hub connecting study programs, research and real-world experience. 

Institutional Values

  • Academic Excellence: Conduct quality programs based on innovative strategies and practical skills of a qualified and diverse faculty.
  • Personal Attention to Learners: Instruct in small, dynamic groups using real-world experience with seminar- and project-based education methods to identify and satisfy individual learner needs, support their continuous growth and development.
  • Diversity, Inclusivity and Multiculturalism: Cultivate a multicultural campus environment; encourage diversity of the student body, faculty, and staff; and treat each person with dignity and respect.
  • Flexibility and Critical Thinking: Promote open-minded discussion and original thought from students, faculty, businesses and institutions to empower innovative approaches and increase the ability to address new challenges.
  • Social Consciousness: Foster an ethos of social responsibility, provide excellent affordable education on a not-for-profit basis and continually reinvest in the betterment of our community and educational models.
  • Shared Governance: Provide relevant stakeholders at all levels with a voice in matters of curriculum, research and operations.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is, represented by some of the brightest minds in education, administration, and governance in the Czech Republic as well as from abroad. Their continued guidance has helped place AAU among the top institutions of its kind in Europe.

The members of the Board of Trustees of Anglo-American University are: 

  • doc. Ing. Jiří Schwarz, CSc.
  • Ing. Věra Babišová
  • Ing. Andrej Barčák
  • Mgr. Petr Chára
  • Melissa Durda
  • PhDr. Miroslava Kopicová
  • PhDr. Ján Oravec, CSc.
  • Mgr. Daniel Soukup, MBA


The Inspector is responsible for overseeing the operations of AAU and the Board of Trustees and is also directly responsible for the institutional direction of AAU. Through extensive communication with AAU’s other governing bodies, it assures the institution’s progression is forward-looking and enduring.

The new Inspector of AAU is:

Ing. Pavel Peterka

Management Board

  • doc. Ing. Štepán Müller, CSc., MBA – President of the AAU
  • Ing. Miroslav Svoboda, Ph.D. – Vice-President for Academic Affairs
  • Jeta Sahatqija, MSc. – Vice-President for Student Affairs
  • Eva Rivera, Ph.D. – Vice-President for Institutional Advancement
  • Richard Olehla, Ph.D. – Vice-President for Academic Quality and Chief WSCUC Accreditation Liaison Officer
  • Ing. Zdeněk Johanovský – Chief Finance Officer
  • Ing. Peter Bolcha, Ph.D.– Director of Research

AAU Founders

Determined to create a unique and productive learning environment, our founders stand as a testament to AAU’s humble beginnings. Their vision has continued to raise academic standards and challenge the established state-educational institutions in the Czech Republic and Central Europe.

AAU’s Founders are:

  • Ing. Lourdes Daza Aramayo, Ph.D.
  • Dr. Lenka Deverová
  • JUDr. Martin Kušík, Ph.D.
  • Mgr. Michaela Proskočilová

Academic Council

Ex Officio Members:

  • doc. Ing. Štěpán Müller, CSc. (Chair)
  • doc. Ing. Jiří Schwarz, CSc.
  • Ing. Miroslav Svoboda, Ph.D.
  • Ing. David Lipka, Ph.D.
  • Ing. Martina Marková
  • PhDr. Richard Olehla, Ph.D.
  • Eva Rivera, Ph.D.
  • Tony Ozuna, M.A.
  • Mgr. Daniela Lenčéš Chalániová, Ph.D
  • Karen Grunow Hårsta, Ph.D.
  • Christopher Shallow, M.Sc.  

Members Appointed by the AAU President:

  • prof. Ing. Evžen Kočenda, Ph.D., DSc.
  • doc. Ing. Jana Přikrylová, Ph.D.
  • JUDr. PhDr. Marek Antoš, Ph.D., LL.M
  • PhDr. Miroslava Kopicová
  • Nona Kikaleishvili
  • Pelin Ayan Musil, Ph.D.
  • prof. Mgr. Ing. Petr Kratochvíl, Ph.D.
  • PhDr. Petr Suchý, Ph.D.